'63 Lincoln - Where to start

This area is for members who are restoring their Lincolns or any other project that they wish to discuss and document with fellow forum members. You can link to your own off-site page or post all your pics and progress in the thread itself. Customizers should use the Customizer Members' Projects forum.
amiller653

'63 Lincoln - Where to start

Post by amiller653 »

Lincoln 1.jpg
Hey gang - I'm new to the board. My wife has inherited a 63 Lincoln that her grandfather purchased new. It's been sitting in a barn on the farm for 20 plus years. We pulled it out in 2014 to clean it up and get it running. Unfortunately, we had to put it back in the barn shortly after. I'm going to get it towed to a shop and get it put up on a lift so I can see what I'm dealing with on the underside.

I'm new to this game and I have no idea where to start. I know there is great debate about purist and those that go mod. I like the idea of mod, but not sure my budget allows me to do what I want to do.

Any help or suggestions on where to start would be great.
Attachments
Lincoln 5.jpg
Lincoln 4.jpg
Lincoln 3.jpg
Lincoln 2.jpg
Lee
Addicted to Lincolns

Re: '63 Lincoln - Where to start

Post by Lee »

Welcome. If it were mine, I’d gingerly work toward getting it roadworthy, then decide what route you want to take restoration-wise.

Was it running when it was parked? If so, there are methods to ease it back into life without causing undue damage in the process. Keep us updated.
1930 A Coupe
1941 LC Coupe
1968 XR-7 (my great-grandfather’s)
1962 LC Sedan (owned 35 years & driven 100k+ myself)
amiller653

Post by amiller653 »